Yakking up things after Thanks-taking

Bloated? Pace yourself? Failed miserably? Yes, I did all three, but, I had the BEST Pumpkin Pie I have ever had thanks to SJ.

Sitting around later, expending as little energy and movement as possible, I remembered something that I had strong intent about years ago. Building my own kayak from a kit. I might actually entertain the idea again. I recently priced the DEMO of a boat my son and I paddled on DEMO over the summer, and it was $1600, weighs 100 pounds empty, and might be prone to warping/bowing. Chesapeake Light Craft make very nice kits. I used to know them, and I believe Pygmy ( back in 3 seconds via google..) …yep..them…So, the linked boat, that is the one I am thinking about, especially after finding an article on how to make numerous cheap clams to hold the pieces together while things set up. Could be interesting, and fun. Now to find the money.

2 Comments

  1. I heard that the other pie was going to be better.

    CLC has some good designs, also check out Green Valleyand Bear Mountain Boats. Stitch and Glue are serviceable and easier, but woodstrip are nicer. Even nicer still are wood and canvas.

    As far as price goes building is not necessarily that much cheaper. I like the idea of a triple kayak, doubles are referred to as divorce machines, but if the center person doesn’t have anyone then you won’t hid paddles too often.

    For an easier build, lighter weight, and more capacity look at canoes!!! If you like the kayak position check out sit on bottom canoes that you paddle like a kayak, but without the weight of a deck. One to hold you would be under 30lbs. Hemlock or Placid make the best.

    Another building option is the geodesic boats. Wood frame with dacron skin.

  2. The main thing I like about kayaks over canoes is the speed and lower profile to the wind….But, you are right, they do make much more sense for multiple people and capacity. The full triple yak kit is $1200 plus clamps and such. I have never seen a kayak in that price range double, let alone triple. My step father still has a metal canoe he found submerged in Belize and dragged it back on the top of an MG! He built an outrigger for it…I used to take that one out in Swan Creek ( Monroe area) all the time when I was a teenager. Solo hitting the wind off the lake was made me prefer the kayaks.

Leave a Reply

