Reviewing a $10,000 laptop at work

A Dell M6400. As outfitted, close to 10K. It crashed 3 times this afternoon loading software updates, Spore, and Adobe CS4. I’d rather have a Macbook. I have one of these to try as well, and it makes my 5 month old WhiteMacbook seem slow and old. Amazing.

Oh yeah…the Dell is pretty big too, as in set-your-coffee-table-book about coffee tables on it big.

I don’t get it. Maybe I am getting old and jaded, but I want something that is the right size, flexible, stable and a good value. At work, things keep careening towards Windows At All Costs, damn the licensing fees and long term recurring costs..sigh.

Leave a Reply

